## TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY A Brief Profile

Texas Southern University was established on March 3, 1947, by the fiftieth Texas Legislature. Originally designated Texas State University for Negroes, it became the first state-supported institution in the City of Houston. In 1951 the institution was renamed Texas Southern University (TSU). Although the University was initially established to educate African Americans, it has become one of the most ethnically diverse institutions in the state. Additionally, its focus and mission has significantly evolved since those early years from a comprehensive generalist focus to a focus on the unique needs of an urban clientele. As a result, in 1973 the Texas Legislature recognized TSU's involvement in programs and services particularly suited to the needs of urban residents by designating the institution "a special purpose institution for urban programming."

Thus, TSU has undergone significant change over its brief 62-year history. Nevertheless, it has remained a special attraction for African Americans. The institution now distinguishes itself as one of the leading producers of African American scholars that obtain collegiate, professional, and graduate degrees in the state as well as in the nation. It presently offers 74 baccalaureate program concentrations, 54 master's program concentrations, the Doctor of Education degree in three programs, the Doctor of Philosophy in four programs, and two graduate professional degrees (the Doctor of Pharmacy and the Doctor of Jurisprudence).

TSU is housed on a single campus in Houston's central city. Among the campus buildings are separate facilities for two professional schools; a music recital hall, acclaimed for its acoustics; a performance theater; the University Art Museum; a health and physical education complex containing a 7,200-seat arena; a student center, recreation center; and dormitories. The University's Robert J. Terry Library has a collection of 764,767 volumes which includes microfilm. Additionally, the University owns a 25,000-watt FM radio station that serves as a teaching and learning laboratory and as an educational link to the community at large.



Texas Southern University Historical Highlights	
1947	Texas Southern University became the first publicly supported University in Houston. The University was originally founded as Texas State University for Negroes.
1948	Dr. R. O'Hara Lanier, U.S. Minister to Liberia, was appointed as the first president of Texas Southern University.
1950	Texas Southern University awarded its first Law degree from the School of Law.
1951	By legislative enactment, Texas State University for Negroes was renamed Texas Southern University.
1955	Dr. Samuel M. Nabrit was appointed the second president of Texas Southern University.
	Texas Southern University obtained accreditation from the Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, the Texas Education Agency, and the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education.
	The School of Law was approved by the State Board of Law Examiners and by the American Bar Association.
	The School of Pharmacy was accredited by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education.
1966	Dr. Joseph A. Pierce was appointed acting president. Dr. Pierce later became the third president of Texas Southern University.



Texas Southern University		
Historical Highlights (Continued)		
(Communed)		
1968	Dr. Granville M. Sawyer was appointed the fourth president of Texas Southern University.	
1973	Because of its continuously evolving urban focus, the Texas Legislature designated Texas Southern University as a "Special Purpose Institution for Urban Programming".	
1978	The College of Education awarded Texas Southern University's first Doctor of Education degree.	
1979	Mr. Everett O. Bell was appointed the fifth president of Texas Southern University.	
1980	Dr. Leonard H. O. Spearman was appointed the sixth president of Texas Southern University.	
1986	Dr. Robert J. Terry became the interim president of Texas Southern University. The College of Pharmacy awarded Texas Southern University's first Doctor of Pharmacy degree.	
1987	Dr. William H. Harris was appointed the seventh president of Texas Southern University.	
1993	Dr. Joann Horton was appointed the eighth president of Texas Southern University and its first female president.	
1995	Mr. James M. Douglas, Esq., was appointed acting president. He was later appointed the ninth president of Texas Southern University	
1998	Texas Southern University awarded its first Ph.D. in Environmental Toxicology.	
1999	Dr. Priscilla Slade was appointed acting president of Texas Southern University. She was later appointed the tenth president of Texas Southern University.	
2006	General James T. Boddie, Jr. was appointed interim president of Texas Southern University.	
2008	Dr. John M. Rudley was appointed the eleventh president of Texas Southern University	



TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY \* FACT BOOK 2006 - 2010

## **Texas Southern University**

## Mission & Vision

Texas Southern University is a comprehensive, historically Black institution of higher education dedicated to providing quality instruction, scholarly research, and socially responsible public service. Consistent with its statutory designations as both a statewide general purpose and a special purpose institution for urban programming, the University offers bachelor's, master's, doctoral, and professional degrees. Committed to providing access and opportunity, it enrolls an academically and ethnically diverse student body. Through their teaching and research, the distinguished faculty members produce competent graduates who are poised to make positive contributions to humanity.







TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY \* FACT BOOK 2006 - 2010