FRONT PAGE DIVIDER GENERAL INFORMATION

BACK PAGE DIVIDER GENERAL INFORMATION

TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY A Brief Profile

Texas Southern University was established on March 3, 1947, by the fiftieth Texas Legislature. Originally designated Texas State University for Negroes, it became the first state-supported institution in the City of Houston. In 1951 the institution was renamed Texas Southern University (TSU). Although the University was initially established to educate African Americans, it has become one of the most ethnically diverse institutions in the state. Additionally, its focus and mission has significantly evolved since those early years from a comprehensive generalist focus to a focus on the unique needs of an urban clientele. As a result, in 1973 the Texas Legislature recognized TSU's involvement in programs and services particularly suited to the needs of urban residents by designating the institution "a special purpose institution for urban programming."

Thus, TSU has undergone significant change over its brief 62-year history. Nevertheless, it has remained a special attraction for African Americans. The institution now distinguishes itself as one of the leading producers of African American scholars that obtain collegiate, professional, and graduate degrees in the state as well as in the nation. Since its inception TSU has awarded over 42,749 degrees. It presently offers 41 baccalaureate degree programs, 28 master's degree programs, the Doctor of Education degree in three programs, the Doctor of Philosophy in four programs, and two graduate professional degrees (the Doctor of Pharmacy and the Doctor of Jurisprudence).

TSU is housed on a single campus in Houston's central city. It has over 40 buildings and occupies over 114.63 acres. Among the buildings are separate facilities for two professional schools; a music recital hall, acclaimed for its acoustics; a performance theater; the University Art Museum; a health and physical education complex containing a 7,200-seat arena; a student center; and dormitories. The University's Robert J. Terry Library has a collection of over 802,107 holdings. Additionally, the University owns a 25,000-watt FM radio station that serves as a teaching and learning laboratory and as an educational link to the community at large. The total assets of TSU exceed \$250 million.

Texas Southern University Historical Highlights	
1947	Texas Southern University became the first publicly supported University in Houston. The University was originally founded as Texas State University for Negroes.
1948	Dr. R. O'Hara Lanier, U.S. Minister to Liberia, was appointed as the first president of Texas Southern University.
1950	Texas Southern University awarded its first Doctor of Jurisprudence degree from the School of Law.
1951	By legislative enactment, Texas State University for Negroes was renamed Texas Southern University.
1955	Dr. Samuel M. Nabrit was appointed the second president of Texas Southern University.
	Texas Southern University obtained accreditation from the Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, the Texas Education Agency, and the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education.
	The School of Law was approved by the State Board of Law Examiners and by the American Bar Association.
	The School of Pharmacy was accredited by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education.
1966	Dr. Joseph A. Pierce was appointed acting president. Dr. Pierce later became the third president of Texas Southern University.
1967	Student protest during the turbulent 1960s led to a violent confrontation with Houston police on the Texas Southern University campus. One policeman was killed, and many students were arrested. The incident lead many to call for the immediate closing of Texas Southern University because of the "inability of the University's administration to control the behavior of its students."



Texas Southern University Historical Highlights (Continued) 1968 Dr. Granville M. Sawyer was appointed the fourth president of Texas Southern University. 1973 Because of its continuously evolving urban focus, the Texas Legislature designated Texas Southern University as a "Special Purpose Institution for Urban Programming". 1978 The College of Education awarded Texas Southern University's first Doctor of Education degree. 1979 Mr. Everett O. Bell was appointed acting president. 1980 Dr. Leonard H. O. Spearman was appointed the fifth president of Texas Southern University. 1986 Dr. Robert J. Terry became the sixth president of Texas Southern University. The College of Pharmacy awarded Texas Southern University's first Doctor of Pharmacy degree. 1987 Dr. William H. Harris was appointed the seventh president of Texas Southern University. 1993 Dr. Joann Horton was appointed the eighth president of Texas Southern University and its first female president. 1995 Mr. James M. Douglas, Esq., was appointed acting president. He was later appointed the ninth president of Texas Southern University 1998 Texas Southern University awarded its first Ph.D. in Environmental Toxicology. 1999 Dr. Priscilla Slade was appointed acting president of Texas Southern University. She was later appointed the tenth president of Texas Southern University. 2006 General James T. Boddie, Jr. was appointed interim president of Texas Southern University. 2008 Dr. John M. Rudley was appointed the eleventh president of Texas Southern University



Texas Southern University Spring 2009 Facts in Brief Houston, TX Location: Residency Status **Total Students** 8513 Full-time 6306 In-state 7169 Part-time 2207 Out-of-state 1095 Foreign 248 Gender Unspecified Male 3517 Female 4996 Top Five Counties Represented Ethnic Origin 7200 Harris 4951 African American 378 Hispanic Fort Bend 591 White Dallas 379 214 198 Other 721 Tarrant 150 Classification Jefferson 2193 Freshman Sophomore 1388 Junior 1219 1733 Senior Graduate/Professional 1980 Average Age Undergraduate 25 32 Graduate/Professional

Texas Southern University

Mission Statement

In fulfilling its mission and purpose, Texas Southern University is committed to the following: maintaining an innovative, productive, and receptive learning environment; implementing initiatives to ensure a suitable environment for research and other scholarly activities; and infusing new technological advances into its infrastructure and academic programs.

