

Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

ı, Vice Chair Dr. Luis Per

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY ASSEMBLY/SENATE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, February 04, 2016, 3:00 pm Hannah Hall, Room 111

Senator Members Chair and Vice Chair

Dr. Rasoul Saneifard (Chair)	College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Dr. Edieth Wu (Vice Chair)	Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Senate Members Present

Abobo, Cyril	Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Asare, Nana	Senator, College of Education
Caussinus, Marylise	Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences
Cavil, J. Kenyatta	Senator Secretary, College of Education
Chaudhuri, Nupur	Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences
Georges-Abeyie, Daniel	Senator, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs
Ghemri, Lila	Senator, The Graduate School
Humphrey, Regis	Senator, School of Communication
Ibitayo, Olurominiyi	Senator Treasurer, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs
Jemison-Pollard, Dianne	Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences
Ojode, Lucy	Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business
Perez-Feliciano, Luis	Senator, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs
Perkins, Carlton	Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business
Saneifard, Rasoul	Senator Chair, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Tymczak, Christopher J.	Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Walker-Hawkins, Vera	Senator Parliamentarian, School of Communication
Woldie, Mammo	Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business
Wu, Edieth	Senator Vice Chair, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Senate Members/Colleges Not in Attendance

Anga, Ahunanya	Senator, Thurgood Marshall School of Law
Bell, Edward	Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Hollomon, Mario	Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Reynolds, Lacey	Senator, College of Education
Thomas, Graham	Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Yousefipour, Zivar	Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Senate Members/Not Present (Alternative Representative)

Carrington, McKen Faculty Senate General Counsel, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Guest(s) from Faculty Assembly or University

Callis, Kendrick Communications Specialist, Office of Communications

1



Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

> Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY ASSEMBLY/SENATE MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary

Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer

C = Comments, R = Response, and Q = Question

Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard called the February 4, 2016 meeting of the TSU Faculty Senate to order at 3:13 pm on Thursday, December 3, 2015.

Approval of the November 2015 Senate Meeting Minutes

The minutes from November 11th and December 3rd, 2015 were reviewed. A motion was made by Senator Parliamentarian Vera Hawkins and seconded by Senator Mammo Woldie as subject of any modification sent by emails to Senator Secretary Kenyatta Cavil.

Announcement

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Opened the meeting by opening the floor to guest Kendrick Callis.

C: Guest Kendrick Callis: States Eva Pickens has served as interim Vice President for University Advancement and Media Relations until recently as the interim tag was removed. Eva Pickens' goals are fundraising and raising the profile of the university and its faculty in terms of marketing. She wants to aggressively be a part of recruiting and raising money for students. They are located in Hannah Hall, room 211.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Presented Mr. Hudnall with plaque of appreciation of service to the university.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Stated he attended the Board of Regents Retreat on January 22, 2016. He stated that he presented the Power Point presentation entitled, "Faculty Accomplishments and Concerns".

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Discussed that Ms. Charlene James has another opportunity to advance her career and we should support her. He provided Ms. Charlene James an opportunity to address the Faculty Senate members who were present.

C: Faculty Senate Secretary Charlene James: You all have a little piece of heart. It is sweet and yellow.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Shared the following points from his presentation:

- Faculty Manual contains clerical errors and omissions
- Grade changes exist
- Large size of courses

Discussion on floor by several Senators

C: Several Senators: Provided an example of the following issues: that there is a class of 90+ students with a class that has 72 seats.



Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

> Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY ASSEMBLY/SENATE MEETING MINUTES

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Discussed the need for seeking a new Faculty Speaks Editor.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Discussed the lack of representation from the faculty on the 2016 presidential search committee. Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard provided a list of potential faculty to be nominated to serve on the committee.

C: Senator Lila Ghemri: Motioned that the Faculty Senate Chair, Rasoul Saniefard is present on the committee along with other faculty senators. Senate Vice Chair Edieth Wu seconded the motion.

Yes: 11 No: 0 Abstention: 0

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary

Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer

The motion carried unanimously.

Discussion on floor about the 2016 Presidential Search Committee Members

C: Senator Daniel Georges-Abeyie: Moved that three faculty members, including the Faculty Senate Chair, Rasoul Saniefard, serves on the 2016 Presidential Search Committee. Senator Christopher Tymczak seconded the motion.

Yes: 11 No: 0 Abstention: 0

The motion carried unanimously.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Discussed using University Museum for the Faculty Welcome Back Reception.

Discussion on floor to discuss the date

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: The date agreed upon was February 16, 2016.

New Business

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Discussed the issue of a university policy on interim chair.

Discussion on floor to discuss clarity on the proposed university policy on interim chair positions

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Discussed the issue on the workload policy.

Discussion on floor on the workload policy



Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

> Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY ASSEMBLY/SENATE MEETING MINUTES

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Issued a suggestion to review the workload policy and discuss with faculty members the need to either update the workload policy or provide suggestions on workload policy.

Discussion on floor

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary

Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer

C: Senator Daniel Georges-Abeyie: Proposed he will submit a written recommendation on reviewing the current written language of the faculty manual policy on the requirements for the department chair position.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Handed the floor to Senator Olurominiyi Ibitayo to discuss a recommendation.

C: Senator Olurominiyi Ibitayo: Asked for the faculty to create a committee to investigate issues with the Dean in Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs.

Discussion on creating a committee

C: Senator Daniel Georges-Abeyie: Moved for an investigation on the Dean in Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs on new transgression. Senator Christopher Tymczak seconded the motion.

The motion was tabled

Committee Reports

N/A

Old Business

N/A

Adjourn Meeting

Ask for the question. Senator Mammo Woldie moved the meeting be adjourned. Senator Christopher Tymczak seconded the motion.

Meeting Adjourned 5:30pm