

Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY SENATE SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Hannah Hall, Room 111, 2:30 PM

Senator Chair

Dr. Rasoul Saneifard College of Science, Engineering and Technology (Chair)

Senate Members Present

Abobo, Cyril Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Bell, Edward Senator, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences

Brailey, Carla Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences

Ibitayo, Olurominiyi Senator Treasurer, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Jemison Pollard, Dianne Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences Lancaster, Iris Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences

Perez-Feliciano, Luis Senator Editor, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Perkins, Carlton Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Thoreson, Claire Senator, The Graduate School

Yousefipour, Zivar Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Senate Members / Colleges Not in Attendance

Anga, Ahunanya Senator, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Asare, Nana Senator, College of Education

Cavil, J. Kenyatta Senator Secretary, College of Education

Griesinger, Nancy
Hollomon, Mario
Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Lowe, Jeffrey
Senator, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Ojode, Lucy Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Regis, Humphrey Senator, School of Communication Reynolds, Lacey Senator, College of Education

Tymczak, Christopher J. Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology Walker-Hawkins, Vera Senator Parliamentarian, School of Communication

Woldie, Mammo Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business Wu, Edieth Vice Chair, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Senate Counsel Not in Attendance

Walker, April Faculty Senate General Counsel, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Guest(s) from Faculty Assembly or University

None.



Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY SENATE SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order

 $\overline{C} = \overline{C}$ Comments, $\overline{R} = \overline{R}$ Response, and $\overline{Q} = \overline{Q}$ Question

Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard called the July 2017 special meeting of the TSU Faculty Senate to order at 2:55 p.m. on Thursday, July 13, 2017.

Approval of the June 2017 Special Senate Meeting Minutes

The minutes from the June 8, 2017 meeting were reviewed once the quorum was reached, and at that juncture Faculty Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard called for a motion to approved the minutes. A motion was made by Senator Claire Thoreson to approve the minutes, which were seconded by Senator Carlton Perkins.

Announcements

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Thanked the Senate for their support. He announced that this is his last meeting as Faculty Senate Chair and that the end of his term is coming to an end. He asked all in attendance for their continued support for the Faculty Senate. He shared that this administration has shown a strong, positive support for working with the Senate.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Reminded the Senate that the voting ballots have yet to be developed for the University Committee. However, he stated that the nominations have been received and once the fall 2017 semester begins the ballots will be distributed to allow for a two-week voting period.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Shared that last spring, the Chairman of the Board Derrick Mitchell resigned, therefore, Regent Wesley Terrell has been appointed as the Interim Chairman of the TSU Board of Regents. Faculty Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard announced that he submitted a resolution letter to Texas Governor Greg Abbott requesting the reappointment of the following Regents, Honorable Oliver Bell and Honorable Gary Bledsoe for their dedicated efforts and exceptional service to the Board.

Discussion on floor by Senators regarding resolution of for the reappointment of Regent Bledsoe and Regent Bell



Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY SENATE SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

C: Senator Carlton Perkins: Motioned to approve the resolution for Texas Governor Greg Abbott to approve the reappointment of Regent Oliver Bell and Regent Gary Bledsoe. Senator Dianne Jemison Pollard second the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Shared several key points that faculty need to pay attention to such as the new standard Workload Policy, which will help alleviate faculty issues. Additionally, he stated that the Seniority Clause is in place, however, he mentioned that senior faculty cannot demand to teach during specific dates and times. He continued that faculty who are assigned to teach Online Courses should make themselves available to on-campus students. Furthermore, faculty should remember to complete their Annual Performance Evaluation. Finally, he specified that if faculty are up for Promotion and Tenure, he advises faculty members to apply.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Shared that several proposals are on the Provost's table for revamping the Commencement Ceremonies and addressing faculty concerns based on several infractions that have occurred recently.

Guests

None.

New Business

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Provided updates on the Deans Search Committees. He announced that he has withdrew from all search committees and recommended Senate Secretary J. Kenyatta Cavil, since he is the incoming Faculty Senate Chairperson. Hence, the School of Business, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences, and School of Law have extended their search activities and the School of Communication continues its search as well. The search in School of Public Affairs is currently in progress. Furthermore, the search committees in College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and College of Science, Engineering and Technology have not started their searches at this time. In contrast, the search committee for *Honors College* have selected three candidates as finalists. In conclusion, Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard stated that the administration intends to have all deans in place as soon as possible.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Stated that now is the time to begin the process for the Evaluation of Deans and Department Chairs.



Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY SENATE SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Shared that the Provost requested all colleges and schools to provide a complete list of names of <u>Departments Chairs with Dual Administrative Positions</u>. Also, he requested the lengths of service for all department chairs as well. Additionally, he stated that he will soon request an update regarding this previous request.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Announced that the <u>Provost Search Committee</u> has been established.

Old Business

None.

Adjourn Meeting

Q: Ask for the question. Senator Carlton Perkins moved that the meeting be adjourned. Senator Carla Brailey seconded the motion.

Meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.