

Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, May 05, 2016 Hannah Hall, Room 111 3:00 PM

Senator Members Chair & Vice Chair

College of Science, Engineering and Technology (Chair)
Thurgood Marshall School of Law (Vice Chair)

Senate Members Present

Dr. Rasoul Saneifard Dr. Edieth Wu

Abobo, Cyril Anga, Ahunanya Asare, Nana Bell, Edward Caussinus, Marylise Cavil, J. Kenyatta Georges-Abeyie, Daniel Ghemri. Lila Hollomon, Mario Ibitayo, Olurominiyi Jemison Pollard, Dianne Ojode, Lucy Perez-Feliciano, Luis Perkins, Carlton Regis, Humphrey Reynolds, Lacey Saneifard, Rasoul Tymczak, Christopher J. Walker-Hawkins, Vera Woldie, Mammo Wu, Edieth Yousefipour, Zivar

Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Senator, Thurgood Marshall School of Law
Senator, College of Education
Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences
Senator Secretary, College of Education
Senator, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs
Senator, The Graduate School
Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Senator Treasurer, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs
Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences
Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business
Senator Editor, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs
Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business
Senator, School of Communication
Senator, College of Education
Senator Chair, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Senator, College of Science, Engineering & Technology
Senator Parliamentarian, School of Communication
Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business
Senator Vice Chair, Thurgood Marshall School of Law
Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Senate Members / Colleges Not in Attendance Thomas, Graham Senator, Co

Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology

Senate Members or Senate Counsel / Not in Attendance (Alternative Representative)Carrington, McKenFaculty Senate General Counsel, Thurgood Marshall School of Law



Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

Guest(s) from Faculty Assembly or University None

Call to Order

 $\overline{C} = Comments$, R = Response, and Q = Question

Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard called the May 2016 meeting of the TSU Faculty Senate to order at 3:15 pm on Thursday, May 5, 2016.

Approval of the February 2016 Senate Meeting Minutes

The minutes from November 11th, December 3rd, 2015 were reviewed. A motion was made by Senator Luis Perez-Feliciano and seconded by Senator Mammo Woldie as subject of any modification sent by emails to Senator Secretary J. Kenyatta Cavil.

Announcement

C: Senator Mammo Woldie: Interviewed seven potential candidates for the presidency of Texas Southern University. We voted and it came down two candidates that were submitted to the Board. We had face-to-face interviews at a site off campus. They did not provide any information on the number of candidates that applied.

Discussion on floor by several Senators

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Referenced the issues related to the School of Public Affairs (SOPA) and yielded the floor to Senator Luis Perez-Feliciano.

C: Senate Editor Luis Perez-Feliciano: Discussed the fact that (SOPA) took a vote of No-Confidence on the Dean of SOPA.

Discussion on floor by several Senators ask for clarification

C: Senate Editor Luis Perez-Feliciano: Motioned for the Faculty Senate to send a formal follow-up letter to Provost James Ward on behalf of (SOPA) stating that the school took a vote of No-Confidence on the Dean of SOPA. The motion was seconded by Senator Lila Ghemri.

Discussion on floor by several Senators and then a vote was taken

Yes = 20No = 0 Abstention = 0



Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

C: Senate Editor Luis Perez-Feliciano: Motioned for the Faculty Senate to meet during the summer for special called meetings. The motion was seconded by Senator Lila Ghemri.

Yes = 17No = 2 Abstention = 1

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Referenced the issues related to the Faculty Senate Vote of Censure and No-Confidence on the President during the last Board Meeting.

Discussion on floor by several Senators

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Provided information on hiring a new Program Coordinator to replace the Senate's Administrative Assistant.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Provided information on the new Open Carry Policy and that the Board of Regents plan to review the policy.

Discussion on floor by several Senators

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Stated a concern on students' evaluations of the instructors. He announced that State law only states that faculty must be evaluated, not how often.

Discussion on floor by several Senators

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Provided information on Provost's cease and desist letter regarding emails across the campus.

Discussion on floor by several Senators

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Highlighted violations of Faculty Rights on Academic Freedom.

Discussion on floor by several Senators

New Business

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Announced plans to review several faculty members' Promotion and Tenure.



Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

Discussion on floor by several Senators

If there are changes to School/College Faculty and Tenure, then the changes should be submitted to the University Rank, Tenure, Promotion and Faculty Salary Committee for ratification of the changes.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Stated concerns with some faculty members not attending course lecture and not meeting our office hours. He stated that we are obligated to attend our course lectures.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Stated concerns with some faculty members not attending course lectures and not meeting our office hours. He stated that we are obligated to attend our course lectures.

Old Business

N/A **Committee Reports**

N/A

Adjourn Meeting

Ask for the question. Senator Mammo Woldie moved that the meeting be adjourned. Senator Olurominiyi Ibitayo seconded the motion.

Meeting Adjourned 4:45pm