

Faculty Assembly/Senate Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary
Dr. Olurominiyi Ibutayo, Treasurer

Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian Dr. Vera Hawkins, Faculty Speaks Editor

FACULTY ASSEMBLY/SENATE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, October 1, 2015, 3:00 pm Hannah Hall, Room 111

Senator Members Chair & Vice Chair

Dr. Rasoul Saneifard (Chair) College of Science and Technology

Dr. Edieth Wu (Vice Chair) Senator, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Senate Members Present

Anga, Ahunanya Senator, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Caussinus, Marylise Senator, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Science

Cavil, J. Kenyatta Senator Secretary, College of Education

Chaudhuri, Nupur Senator, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences

Humphrey, Regis Senator, School of Communication

Hollomon, Mario Senator, College of Science & Technology

Jemison Pollard, Dianne Senator, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences

Ojode, Lucy Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business Perkins, Carlton Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Ghemri, Lila Senator, The Graduate School Reynolds, Lacey Senator, College of Education

Saneifard, Rasoul Senator Chair, College of Science and Technology

Olurominiyi, Ibitayo Senator Treasurer, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Tymczak, Christopher J. Senator, College of Science & Technology

Woldie, Mammo Senator Parliamentarian, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Wu, Edieth Senator, Thurgood Marshall School of Law Yousefipour, Zivar Senator, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences

Senate Members/Colleges Not in Attendance

Abobo, Cyril Senator, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences
Bell, Edward Senator, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences
Walker-Hawkins, Vera Senator, School of Communication (Parliamentarian)

Not in Attendance Senator, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs
Not in Attendance Senator, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Thomas, Graham Senator, College of Science & Technology

Not in Attendance Senator, College of Education

Senate Members/Not Present (Alternative Representative)

Carrington, McKen TM School of Law - (Faculty Senate General Council)

Guest from Faculty Assembly or University

Buckner, Yolanda General Counsel Staff Attorney



Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibutayo, Treasurer Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian Dr. Vera Hawkins, Faculty Speaks Editor

FACULTY ASSEMBLY/SENATE MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order

C = Comments, R = Response, and Q = Question

Senator Chair Rasoul Saneifard called the October 2015 meeting of the TSU Faculty Senate to order at 3:15 pm on Thursday, October 1, 2015.

Approval of the 3 of September 2015 Senate Meeting Minute

The minutes from September 3, 2015 were reviewed. A motion was made by Senator Mammo Woldie and seconded by Senator Luis Perez-Feliciano as subject of any modification sent by emails to Senator Secretary Kenyatta Cavil.

Announcement

C: Senator Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Commented on the lower enrollment (8,829) this fall and the need to be mindful of financial stress on the university as well as consideration of faculty participation in faculty convocation and or graduation.

Several faculty senators stated various issues of concerns and support of such consideration.

Visitor on Texas Senate Bill 11: Zone on campus that prohibits carrying guns on campus.

For example: All classrooms on compass are zone under such a policy.

Several faculty senators stated various concerns on this new Texas Senate Bill.

Senator Lila Ghermi motioned two volunteer members from the Faculty Assembly should serve on the Senate Bill 11 committee to review campus safety zone and he motion was seconded by Senator Christopher Tymczak.

VOTE: Yes = 7, No = 6, Abstain = 1

Motion carries

C: Senator Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Commented on advisement issues on campus.

Several faculty senators stated various issues of concerns and support of such consideration.

C: Senator Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Commented on Faculty Speaks recommendation.

Old Business

C: Senator Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Commented on completed the reports on the motions made from the September faculty senate meeting.

Committee Reports



Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibutayo, Treasurer Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian Dr. Vera Hawkins, Faculty Speaks Editor

FACULTY ASSEMBLY/SENATE MEETING MINUTES

-Election Committee Report

N/A

-Salary Analysis Reports from College

R: Senator Mammo Woldie: Provided a report presented by Senator Carlton Perkins presented on the Summary of Salaries 2014 for selected schools.

Several faculty senators voiced amazement on the average salary of faculty members.

New Business

- C: Senator Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Provided the floor to Senator Ibitayo
- C: Senator Olurominiyi Ibitayo: Provided issues with the School of Public Affairs.
- R: Senator Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Stated concerns that the issue did not move through the proper protocol so the faculty senate cannot address the issue.
- C: Senator Carlton Perkins: Stated concerns with graduate faculty status for new hires and that they are not provided information on policy for applying for such status.
- C: Senator Carlton Perkins: Suggested that such information should be bound and presented to new hires.
- C: Senator Chair Rasoul Saneifard: I will address that issue with Provost Ward.
- C: Senator Luis Perez-Feliciano: Stated concerns there is not representation from the School of Public Affairs.
- R: Senator Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Stated he is working on that issue.

Adjourn Meeting

Ask for the question. Senator Mammo Woldie moved the meeting be adjourned. It was seconded by Senator Marylise Caussinus

Meeting Adjourned 5:17pm