TSU Presidential Search Committee announced by Board Chairman Derrick Mitchell; Regent Oliver Bell will lead

Posted on Wednesday, March 16, 2016

The search for Texas Southern University's 12th president has begun with the formation of a 14-member Presidential Search Committee appointed by the chair of the TSU Board of Regents Derrick Mitchell.  The committee is charged with conducting a comprehensive national search for a successor to John Rudley, Ed.D, who announced in December he will retire at the end of this year after 9 years leading the university.

Regent Oliver Bell has been appointed to lead the search committee.  According to Bell, the Board of Regents has selected the firm of Diversified Search, Inc. to facilitate and assist with the search process.  Bell stated, “Diversified Search will do most of our early leg work including posting the position description, fielding the initial slate of applicants and reducing that candidate pool down to 15-20 of the most qualified.”  He went on to say that, “The Presidential Search Committee will then interview candidates in that pool and recommend up to five for consideration by the full board as the future TSU President.  The Board of Regents will then name a new President.”

The Search Committee comprises members from the university and business community, including regents, faculty and staff, students, alumni, and local business leaders.  "The members of the Presidential Search Committee bring a deep understanding of the institution, and their complementary backgrounds will give the committee diverse perspectives from across disciplines and programs throughout the university," said Bell, who was appointed Regent in 2015.  “This is an exciting opportunity in higher education. We are confident we will find an inspiring and innovative leader to build upon the university’s legacy."

Bell said the search time table is aggressive but seeks to include input from the entire campus community.  A tentative goal of June 1, has been set to have a new president selected.  Thus, the committee began working via electronic communications in February.  The Search Committee has met twice to begin its initial operations.  “We will identify candidates in March and April, interview candidates in April and May and make a recommendation to the board so the board can name a new President.  While we are targeting a June deadline, we will not rush the process.  We will take the time necessary to make the right recommendations and choices.”

From March 7-9, 2016, the Presidential Search Committee will host several forums and town hall type meetings with students, faculty, staff, alumni, community leaders and administrators to gather input on the characteristics of the next president.  These meetings will be led by Diversified Search, Inc.  Bell said, the committee is exploring the possibility of an online survey tool as well to provide an additional opportunity to those who may not be able to attend on campus forums.  “In a global sense,” he adds, “we are looking for a leader who can articulate the university’s vision for the next three to five years, encourage all stakeholders to participate, and execute that vision.  We seek a President who can follow up on the good that has been done at TSU, reinforce the positive, move us away from the negative, and implement changes to provide an even brighter future.”

Bell said the search process is designed to be open, but the process is also designed to protect the confidentiality of our applicants.  "We want to be as transparent as possible without jeopardizing information entrusted to us by the candidates,” according to Regent Mitchell, adding that, “we do intend to conduct considerable outreach, both on campus and with higher education thought leaders, as we seek diverse input about our next leader, but also about the issues that impact higher education thus impacting Texas Southern University.

"We know that this may not be a simple process," Bell continued. "Our committee members are all aware of and committed to this significant undertaking.  While we all understand the strict confidentiality that such a search requires, we need and welcome broad input. "

The members of the Presidential Search Committee are:

1. Oliver Bell, Regent, Committee Chair

2. Ahunanya Anga, TSU Associate Professor

3. Alaina Benford, Norton Rose Fulbright, Alumnus

4. Dominique Calhoun, TSU Student Regent

5. Marcus Davis, The Breakfast Klub, Alumnus

6. Tandra Jackson, KPMG

7. Sherman Lewis, The Lewis Group

8. Jose Medrano, Medrano Insurance Agency

9. Fundi Mwamba, Total Gas & Power, North America, Alumnus

10. Crystal Owens, TSU SGA President

11. Edward Stemley, Jr., TSU Dean, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

12. Marilyn Rose, TSU Regent, Alumnus

13. Wesley Terrell, TSU Regent

14. Mammo Woldie, TSU Professor, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Category: News Media

Press Contact

Office of Marketing & Communications

Last updated: 10/09/2018