2017 TSU Day at the Capitol

Posted on Friday, February 03, 2017

Over 250 students, faculty, staff and alumni participated in TSU Day at the Capitol. Texas Southern leadership and its contingent were acknowledged on the floor of the House and Senate, and visited legislative offices. Senator Borris Miles and Representative Garnet Coleman presented resolutions acknowledging January 24th as TSU Day at the Capitol (Senate Resolution 20).

The University honored 23 elected officials including, Honorable Sylvia Garcia, Honorable Borris L. Miles, Honorable Senfronia Thompson, Honorable Harold V. Dutton, Jr., Honorable Roberto R. Alonzo, Honorable Joe Deshotel, Honorable Alma Allen, Honorable Ron Reynolds, Honorable Sergio Munoz, Jr., Honorable Bobby Guerra, Honorable Jarvis Johnson, Honorable Victoria Neave, Honorable Shawn Thierry, Honorable Garnet F. Coleman, Honorable Helen Giddings, Honorable Royce West, Honorable John Whitmire, Honorable Kel Seliger, Honorable John Zerwas, Honorable Jane Nelson, Honorable Dan Patrick, Honorable Joe Strauss, and Honorable Greg Abbott. 

The university will continue to advocate on behalf of its legislative agenda throughout the remainder of the session and will return to the Capitol for the African American Legislative Summit to be held February 26 – 28. The university will post updates about legislative action at TSU.EDU/Government-Relations.



Press Contact

Office of Marketing & Communications

Last updated: 10/05/2018