Outstanding Faculty Recognized

Posted on Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Several outstanding faculty members were recognized for their distinguished work during the 2016-2017 academic year May 10 at the annual Faculty Excellence Awards reception. TSU President Austin A. Lane and Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Bobby Wilson presided over the ceremony. 

“Teaching, research and service are the three measures of any university’s faculty,” said President Lane. “I’m in awe of the outstanding work that our four recipients have done in these key areas in and out of the classrooms with our students and for our university. The University’s second key area of focus – academic program quality and research – speaks directly to their credentials, scholarship, teaching and service to our community.”      

Dr. Munder Zagaar, assistant professor in the department of Pharmacy Practice and Clinical Health Sciences, was presented with faculty’s highest honor – the McCleary Teaching Excellence Award. He was nominated by his colleague Dr. Edward Bell who described him as an instructor in the College of Pharmacy Health Sciences who is at the forefront in applying new course design, computer technology and active learning strategies for students and fellow faculty.   Dr. Zaggar currently co-chairs the Curriculum Committee and facilitates sessions for the college’s Certificate of Teaching for Health Professions program. 

Dr. Omonike Olaleye, associate professor in the department of Pharmaceutical and Environmental Health Sciences, won the Scholarly Research/Creative Activities Award. She was nominated by her Department Chair, Dr. Dong Liang. In 2016-2017, Dr. Olaleye received four major grants/awards and submitted four U.S. Patent applications. To date, Dr. Olaleye has been awarded funding totaling $5,218,823 with 11 funded grants and/or awards in which she served in different capacities as Principal Investigator, Co-Principal Investigator, Program Director or Core Leader.

Dr. Sarmistha Rina Majumdar, associate professor in the MPA and eMPA program in the department of Political Science, received the Distinguished Service Award. She was nominated by School of Public Affairs Interim Dean, Dr. Michael Adams. Dr. Majumdar is a key contributor in promoting the field of Public Administration and her service has helped TSU’s MPA and eMPA program gain added visibility in Houston, the state of Texas and at the national level. Her leadership and initiative led to the reconstruction of the American Society for Public Administration’s Greater Houston Chapter. She was also instrumental in writing a proposal for TSU’s online Doctoral Program in Public Administration which has been submitted to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

The Department of Social Work received the award for the Provost’s Department of the Year. Described as the absolute model of faculty collegiality and professional behavior, the department was recognized for its productivity and impact of the departmental scholarly activities on students and communities. The various publications, presentations, and grant awards produced by this department demonstrate both inter-departmental and inter-university collaboration with results that have a monumental impact of the lives of many both young and old, in neighboring and far-reaching communities. Accepting the award were Dr. Jane Perkyns, interim associate dean, Dr. Merline Pitre, interim dean, Ronda Lewis, administrative assistant, Dr. Grace Loudd, assistant professor, Dr. Nicole Willis, assistant professor, Ifueko Omorogbe, director of field education, Dr. Needha Boutté-Queen, department chair, Orlando P. Milton, Jr., visiting instructor, Phillip Lewis, adjunct faculty, Dr. Alicia LaChapelle-Friday, adjunct faculty, Dr. Gloria Batiste-Roberts, adjunct faculty, and Regina Walker, adjunct faculty.

Category: News Media

Press Contact

Office of Marketing & Communications

Last updated: 10/05/2018