Tony Wyllie inducted into NBCAHOF

Posted on Tuesday, October 10, 2017

NBCAHOF induction

Tony Wyllie

The National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame Foundation, Inc. will host its Annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, Friday, September 29, 2017 at 7 p.m. in Atlanta, Georgia at the Hyatt Regency Atlanta.  Each year graduates of Historically Black Colleges & Universities (HBCUs) are inducted into the Hall of Fame for significant contributions they have made in their respective fields. This event promotes the viability of HBCUs and highlights the accomplishments of their alumni.

Among this year’s stellar class of honorees is Tony Wyllie, being inducted in the category of Athletics.  Tony received his degree in journalism from Texas Southern University where he began his career in the Sports Information Department.  He received an MBA from the Jones School of business at Rice University.  He worked as an adjunct professor at Texas Southern and as a professor at the Georgetown University Sports Industry Management.  Tony is entering his eighth season as Senior Vice President of Communications for the Washington Redskins, in the midst of his third decade of NFL service as a decorated communications professional. He is the youngest Public Relations Director in the NFL and earned the Pete Rozelle Award for the Best Public Relations Staff for a record five times, and the only executive in the NFL to win this award with three different teams . . .the Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, Tennessee Titans and Houston Texans.  In addition, Tony has worked for the Houston Oilers, San Diego Chargers and Dallas Cowboys.  He’s worked on NFC Championship Games, Pro Bowls, eight Super Bowls and has helped promote 12 Pro Football Hall of Famers.  Tony has volunteered on numerous boards including the March of Dimes and continues to volunteer his services to Texas Southern University whenever needed.

Joining Tony to receive an award are:  Arts/Entertainment:  Jonathan Slocumb, Oakwood University; Business/Industry: Mitchell Martin, CPA, MBA, North Carolina A&T State University; Civil Rights:  Dr. Benjamin F. Chavis, Jr., Howard University; Community Service:  Judge Penny Brown Reynolds, Interdenominational Theological Center; Education:  Dr. Gary McGaha, Mississippi Valley State University; Faith/Theology:  Rev. Dr. Lillie Jones (Posthumously), Bennett College; Government:  The Honorable Joseph W. Hatchett, Florida A&M University; Law:  Justice Henry E. Frye, North Carolina A&T State University; Medicine: Valerie Montgomery Rice, M.D., Morehouse School of Medicine; Science:  Dr. Eugene M. DeLoatch, Tougaloo College; Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Edith A. Calhoun, Talladega College; Lifetime Achievement: Atty. Patricia Russell-McCloud, Kentucky State University; Lifetime Achievement: Deborah Scott Thomas, Alabama State University; and receiving the Chairman’s Award: Hamilton Bohannon, Clark Atlanta University.

The Induction Ceremony is part of the Annual NBCA Hall of Fame Weekend.  Other events include The Competition of Black College Queens, HBCU Invitational Golf Classic, Legacy of Leaders Alumni Awards, Call to Womanhood and Call to Manhood Symposia, Positive Image Program and other programs intended to empower and equip HBCU alumni to better serve their alma maters and communities as a whole.

Category: News Media

Press Contact

Office of Marketing & Communications

Last updated: 10/05/2018