Texas Transportation Hall of Honor to induct former TSU professor

Posted on Wednesday, November 08, 2017


Dr. Naomi W. Ledé

Dr. Naomi W. Ledé, founder of TSU’s Center for Transportation Training and Research (CTTR) will be inducted into the Texas Transportation Hall of Honor. The event will be held at Texas A&M University on November 20. Dr. Ledé, who retired from TSU in 1998 as a distinguished professor emeritus, will be the first African American inducted into the Hall. She will be recognized with a permanent plaque at the Texas A&M Transportation Institute in the Texas A&M University Research Park in College Station, Texas.

Dr. Ledé founded CTTR in 1983 with a grant and developed the center into the most respected transportation research and education program at an HBCU. She developed the National Summer Transportation Institute (NSTI) aimed at introducing junior high and high school students from the minority community to a career in transportation. NSTI received numerous national Federal Highway Administration awards. Ledé, as a senior research scientist at the Texas Transportation Institute (TTI), received the inaugural Sharon D. Banks Award for Innovative Leadership in Transportation.

Dr. Ledé earned her Ed.D. in curriculum and instruction from the University of Houston. She holds two M.A. degrees, studying urban affairs at the University of Texas at Arlington and sociology at Texas Southern University, and earned an undergraduate degree at Mary Allen College in Crockett, Texas.

Category: News Media

Press Contact

Office of Marketing & Communications

Last updated: 10/05/2018