Honors Studies was Celebrated at the Honors College Spring Luncheon

Posted on Tuesday, March 31, 2020

On Saturday, March 7, the Honors Studies program hosted the Honors College Spring Luncheon to raise funds benefiting the programs in the College. Keynote speaker and Texas Southern University alumna Council Member Carolyn Evans-Shabazz stirred the luncheon attendees to action as she spoke on the topic, “Competing to Win: Not just for Self but for Others.”

AndersonAmong the six honorees was Dr. Sanders Anderson who directed the Frederick Douglass Honors Institute for several years as he taught Political Science in the Barbara Jordan/Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs. During his tenure as Director of the Honors Institute, he was elected the President of the National Association of African American Honors Program. He also serves as the Vice Chair for the Houston Ebony Music Society. Dr. Anderson was a Political Analyst for FOX 26 covering several elections from 2000 to 2008. He continues to give commentary on political affairs for both FOX 26 and ABC 13.

MauricioOther honorees included Rev. Dr. Patricia Williams, who served as the first female dean at Texas Southern University and was the founding director of the Frederick Douglass Honors Institute. The director of Pharmacy at Memorial Hermann Hospital in Memorial City, Mr. Rodney Cox, also a 1999 graduate member of the Frederick Douglass Honors Institute, Dr. Humphrey Regis, former Dean of the Thomas F. Freeman Honors College, and Dr. Candy Ratliff, interim Chair of Counselor Education at TSU and served as dean of students in the Honors College under Dr. Thomas F. Freeman.

 A heartfelt moment during the luncheon was the tribute to Mr. Mauricio Sanchez who received an Appreciation Award for his 20 years of outstanding service to the university. A native of El Salvador, San Salvador, in 2008 he was promoted to custodial supervisor and has always helped the Honors College maintain a safe and hygienic facility for the Freeman Scholars.

Program participants included Freeman Scholars, Sarah Shirdon, Ja’Darrian Morgan, Alexis Shavers and Mr. and Miss Honors College Clinton Emeh and Janai Minga. Music was furnished by Freeman Scholars, Mark Ddamulira and Daniel Kuddabujja. Honors College staff, Mr. Shandon Neal, Ms. Renuka Nair, Dr. Hector Miranda, and Dean Jemison Pollard all contributed to the program.

Category: News Media, Students, Alumni, Faculty & Staff

Press Contact

Office of Marketing & Communications

Last updated: 04/03/2020